U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated a disaster in 16 North Dakota counties due to extreme weather last year — both wet and dry, the Bismarck Tribune reports.

This week’s announcement, coupled with a disaster designation Perdue issued in November, means all of North Dakota’s 53 counties are now covered, and farmers and farm-related businesses statewide are eligible to apply for federal emergency loans.

For farmers and ranchers, the loans can be used to replace needed equipment or livestock, reorganize a farming operation or refinance certain debts, according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The deadline for producers to apply for emergency loans is Oct. 28. For more information on eligibility requirements and application procedures, go to www.farmers.gov/recover. Small nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives and most private nonprofit organizations in the primary disaster-designated counties also might qualify for disaster loans, according to the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Applicants can apply online, get additional info and download applications at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela. Applicants also can call SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 or email disastercustomerservice@sba.gov for more info.information.

Load comments