A statewide show featuring artwork from students all over North Dakota is making a stop in Williston.

The North Dakota Juried Student Art show is a traveling exhibit of the state's award winning artwork from schools across North Dakota. For the 2017-2018 show, jurors poured through 737 different submitted pieces, finally choosing 117 as the award-winning works of art. Of those pieces, 16 were chosen to adorn the walls of North Dakota's elected officials, with three going to Gov. Doug Burgum's offices, four going to Sen. Heidi Heitkamp's offices, four going to Sen. John Hoeven's offices and five going to Rep. Kevin Cramer's offices. Karla Quintana, an art student at Williston High School, had her piece "Flower Girl" chosen for the Northern Visions Award to hang in Hoeven's Washington D.C. office.

The traveling show features works from students in kindergarten through 12th grade, and is sponsored by the Taube Museum of Art in Minot, where it is juried. After the pieces are selected, they become a traveling exhibit for the following year, making their way across the state, visiting various galleries and museums. The show, which includes several pieces from Williston students among its award-winners, will be on display at the James Memorial Art Center until January 30th.

"We're very honored to be able to have the student art show at the James," said Deana Novak, board vice president. "Our city and state is filled with amazing artists, and this is one way we can help spotlight those talented young artists."

Novak added that getting students involved in art early on helps to encourage them to appreciate art, and hopefully inspire them to continue being artistic. It some cases, she said, it may even encourage them to pursue art as a career. The recognition they receive from this show, she continued, goes a long way in helping to foster a love of the arts. The James will feature a second student art show in February, when it hosts the Williston State College student show. Williston has seen several award-winning students over the years from various shows, with many continuing to show their work locally in community shows.

Williston's award recipients for 2017-2018 are Karla Quintana, Northern Visions and Traveling Award winner; Kaylee Moss, Spotlight and Traveling Award winner; Anthony Flores, People's Choice Award winner; Gabrielle Marks, Sierra Watterud, Marissa Branham, Hayden Krieger and Faith Crosby, Traveling Award winners. The awards were chosen by jurors Susana Amundarain, Artist and Adjunct Art Professor at Minot State University and Wendy Kimble, Artist and Gallery Manager of Artspace Suite 1 Gallery.

The James Memorial will be hosting an artist reception for the North Dakota Juried Student Art Show on January 6 from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Load comments